Unpacking Straight Privilege

Nice post about heterosexual privilege! Please take some time to think about this.

Strong in the Broken Places

My friend Alex sent this list to me about the differences gay folk have to deal with on a daily basis. While you’re reading through this list, think about how these things would feel to a teen struggling to understand his or her alternative sexuality.

 

Unpacking the Invisible Knapsack II – Sexual Orientation :

Daily effects of straight privilege
This is an opportunity to consider the automatic and often invisible tools, resources, conditions, experiences, and preference you enjoy based on identifying as straight or heterosexual. While reading, consider what it might be like if your journey did not include this invisible knapsack of necessities.

On a daily basis as a straight person…

  • I can be pretty sure that my roommate, hallmates and classmates will be comfortable with my sexual orientation.
  • If I pick up a magazine, watch TV, or play music, I can be certain my sexual orientation will be…

View original post 442 more words

Leave a Reply

